LETTER to ELLIS

IIn 1909, my Italian grandfather Guiseppe Riscaldino realized his dream : he left his native village, Brandizzo , a small village near Turin, his family, his four sisters and went to the Golden Gate , America . He traveled in difficult conditions in the third class , took the train, boat to get to Ellis Island , a small island in New York Harbor near the island of the Statue of Liberty as 8 million Europeans who entered the United States through the portal of Ellis Island between January 1, 1892 and November 12, 1954 .
I found the trace of his passage on Ellis Island where I went in 1994. I have a passport that I keep as a talisman, found its way on the list of immigrants , he passed in 1913, a century ago .
I was brought all my childhood in the history of the maternal grandfather I never knew , and had everything to go seek his fortune in Buenos Aires where he opened a large hotel restaurant on the coast Trebol ” El Colon “.
Today Ellis Island is part of the National Monument Statue of Liberty.
The picture is beautiful : the transition to freedom, to all possible, to fortune , to the new world .
Today 150 million Americans have one or more descendants who came through Ellis Island. The name of Ellis Island comes from its former owner before it was bought by two states: New Jersey and New York. This portal to the new world was enlarged from 3.3 acres to 27.5 acres and architects have built so that ships directly unloaded immigrants on the island.

Maps :
The maps are a tool, they are a representation of leagues , life history , dreams of war, borders, passages , departures, facilities, fantasies …
Topography maps, their texts , their contours are well on identifiers leagues but especially movements, physical, psychological and especially trace the political history of population movements .

The American Dream :
I was lulled by the story of Guiseppe , this worthy man and political left everything to his family fortune to follow his dream, his madness, a grandiose project for the residents of a small Italian village , it was new adventurers ” golden Gate “.

ASTRUC, Guiseppe Riscaldino‘s granddaughter  .

LA LETTRE À ELLIS

En 1909, mon grand-père italien Guiseppe Riscaldino réalise son rêve : il quitta son village natal, Brandizzo, petit village à côté de Turin, sa famille, ses quatre sœurs et partit vers la Porte d’Or, l’Amérique. Il voyagea dans des conditions difficiles en 3ème classe, prit le train, le bateau pour arriver à Ellis Island, petite île à New York Harbor à côté de l’île de la Statue de la Liberté comme 8 millions d’Européens qui entrèrent aux Etats-Unis à travers le portail d’Ellis Island entre le 1er janvier 1892 et le 12 novembre 1954.
J’ai retrouvé la trace de son passage sur Ellis Island où je suis allée en 1994. J’ai son passeport que je garde comme un talisman, on retrouve son passage sur la liste des immigrants, il passa en 1913, voilà un siècle.
J’ai été portée toute mon enfance par l’histoire de ce grand-père maternel que je n’ai jamais connu et qui avait tout abandonné pour partir chercher fortune à Buenos Aires où il ouvrit un grand hôtel restaurant sur la côte au Trebol : « El Colon ».
Aujourd’hui Ellis Island ait intégrée au monument national de la statue de la Liberté.
L’image est très belle : le passage vers la liberté, vers le tout est possible, vers la fortune, vers le nouveau monde.
Aujourd’hui 150 millions d’américains ont un ou plusieurs descendants qui ont transité par Ellis Island. Le nom de l’île Ellis vient de son ancien propriétaire avant qu’elle ne soit achetée par les deux états : New Jersey et New York. Ce portail vers le nouveau monde fut agrandi de 3,3 ares à 27,5 hectares et les architectes l’ont construite de telle sorte que les navires déchargeaient directement les immigrants sur l’île.

Les cartes :
Les cartes sont plus qu’un outil, elles sont une représentation de lieues, d’histoire de vie, du rêve à la guerre, de frontières, de passages, de départs, d’installations, de fantasmes…
La topographie des cartes, leurs textes, leurs contours représentent bien sur des lieues identificateurs mais aussi et surtout des mouvements, des déplacements physiques, psychologiques et surtout tracent l’histoire politique des populations.

Le rêve américain :
J’ai été bercée par l’histoire de Guiseppe, cet homme digne et politique qui a tout quitté pour sa famille, faire fortune, suivre son rêve, sa folie, un projet grandiose pour les habitants d’un petit village italien, ce fut les nouveaux aventuriers de la « porte d’or ».

ASTRUC, petite fille de Guiseppe Riscaldino.